All the cool kids read this blog.

For this experiment, I collected 6 different objects from nature that I thought would be interesting to use as a writing utensil. I wanted to try to find things that would make unique marks on paper. The things I collected were small twigs, leaves, moss, a thorny burr, acorn caps, and a large feather. Here I have used red paint with each of these objects and experimented with the different marks I could make:

IMG_0695

 

My favorite found utensil to use was the moss. I liked the spotted pattern that I could make with it, and it reminds me of splotches of spray paint.  The burr had a similar effect as the moss, but smaller and more delicate. I also liked the effect of the burr as it is very unique.

Here you can view close-ups of the strokes made by each utensil:

Stick

Leaf

Feather

Acorn

Burr

Moss

 

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

