All the cool kids read this blog.

After interviewing people I came across on the line what they wished for, I decided to try to grant these wishes (on the line, of course!) You can watch the full video right here: Wishes on the Line.

One person said that they wished “to be successful in my life.” I thought about what it takes to be successful, and the first thing that came to mind is education. After all, that’s why we’re all here at college – to learn new skills and information that will help us make the most of our careers. Having a solid education is the foundation for being able to obtain the career you want, and many people associate having a career with being successful.

So, in order to help all who travel the line be more knowledgeable and therefore more successful in their future endeavors, I granted the wish of success by hanging little cards of “Knowledge on the Line” from various trees. The information I put on these cards is not just random facts, however. I thought about the things that I found most interesting about the line when I was exploring it — the plants and animals — and researched these things. For example, here are a few of the facts that I collected:

  • Scientists estimate that there are anywhere between 9,000 – 14,000 different species of moss! It is hard to come up with a more precise answer because many species of moss are very similar and grow mixed in with other mosses.
  • Ancient Egyptians believed that mushrooms granted immortality.
  • Baby squirrels are called “kittens.”

Next, I wrote down some of the most fascinating information on the cards.  Now all who walk the line can stop to read them and learn more about their surroundings.

Here are a few of the cards:

While I was walking off of the line and back to my dorm, I ran into another girl who was exploring. She asked me if I made the knowledge on the line cards, and told me that she liked them. I was happy to hear that one person had already learned something from my cards! Hopefully her life will be successful.

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

